October

S M T W T F S
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
 
 

Wisconsin Trees and Grasses

Location: 
Other
Cost: 
$99
Contact: 
Office of Continuing Education, 715-261-6294
Dates: 
Tue, Sep 26, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Thu, Oct 5, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Thu, Oct 12, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Tue, Oct 17, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Thu, Oct 26, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Tue, Oct 31, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Thu, Nov 2, 2017, 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Description 

Explore the wide variety of tree and grass species native to Wisconsin as well as those introduced species that have been naturalized. There are over 100 Wisconsin trees in a variety of forest types, many of which have been turned to commercial value. Forest management as well as planting for harvest to use in the lumber and paper industry have changed the contours of Wisconsin landscapes. Learn what trees are natives and which have been naturalized to Wisconsin, as well as the fascinating histories of their use. Wisconsin is also home to over 230 native grass species, which dominate our prairies, agricultural areas, and other transitional ecosystems. In addition, there are the grass-like sedges and rushes in wetland areas that number over 200 species. Learn the unique morphology and terminology associated with identifying grasses, sedges and rushes, as well as how to tell them apart in the landscape.
Dates: Tuesdays and Thursdays//Sept 26 – Nov 2// 5:00 – 7:00 PM
Room: 193, $99