State council recognizes UWMC for its diversity efforts

November 10, 2014

Greg Lampe and Keith Montgomery

The Wisconsin State Council on Affirmative Action, a citizens’ advisory group, has chosen the University of Wisconsin-Marathon County as a 2014 Diversity Award winner for its efforts to create a safe and inclusive campus culture that fosters learning for all students.

When announcing the 2104 award winners, State Council on Affirmative Action Chair Chris Zenchenko cited UWMC’s work to “create a safe gathering space (Multicultural Resource Center) for students, develop co-curricular programs that increase awareness of diversity and multicultural issues, advocate for policies and practices that create an inclusive campus climate and assist the campus in reducing barriers to higher education for underrepresented student populations.”

Keith Montgomery, dean and campus executive officer, accepted the award on behalf of UWMC Oct. 23 at the Council’s 2014 Program Achievement Award program at the state capitol in Madison, Wis.

“For the past ten years, UWMC’s Multicultural Resource Center has provided a supportive environment in which all students can develop a better understanding of and appreciation for the many cultures in our community and beyond. It is a key place for students of all backgrounds on our campus to gather,” Montgomery says. “This award recognizes the hard work that our students, staff and faculty have put into it to make it a wonderful campus asset.”

UWMC is one of two UW System universities that will be honored at this year’s program. UW-La Crosse will receive the 2014 Ann Lydecker Educational Diversity Award for its Eagle Mentoring Program, which assists low-income, underrepresented second-year minority and first-generation college students.

The Council established the Diversity Award program in 2000 to recognize the achievements of outstanding Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action practices among state agencies and University of Wisconsin System campuses.